Sir William’s Dog Run is the largest public dog run in Manhattan – an acre of land in the heart of Fort Tryon Park where dogs and owners can exercise and socialize in a beautiful setting. The area where the run is located was in the original Olmsted Brothers’ 1933 design plan as a Children’s Play Lawn. The run came about as a result of a unified effort by the community and NYC Parks, to revitalize the park after years of decline, due to the fiscal crisis. As a nod to Fort Tryon Park’s rich history, the run was named for William Tryon, New York’s last Colonial governor.
Note that dogs must be on leash in all areas of the park, except when inside the dog run.
Since the opening of the run, the Fort Tryon Park Trust added a perimeter fence and separate gated areas for dogs of different sizes and needs. The Fort Tryon Park Trust also supports the run and dog owners by funding several stewardship days each year, to maintain and beautify the run and its surrounding area. The run has over 350 regular users and attracts visitors from NYC and beyond.
Fort Tryon Park also offers eight miles of pathways for dogs and their owners to stroll along while taking in breathtaking views of the Hudson River and the Palisades. There are skunks, raccoons, groundhogs, birds, and many more wildlife species for a dog to wonder at. For dogs who are up to it, you can practice on-leash canine parkour around the many exciting features in the park, and runners can exercise with their pets on leash.
Want to meet other dog owners and get involved in the ongoing stewardship and upgrades to Sir William’s Dog Run? Complete this form to learn about events, opportunities and planned improvements: